January 5, 2016

Choosing One Word for 2016

Posted in Christianity at 9:48 pm by Staci Hart Mauney

“For the LORD will be your confidence And will keep your foot from being caught. . .” (Prov. 3:26)

Each New Year’s Day, we make resolutions that we don’t keep. We have good intentions – to be a better person or to live a healthier life – but inevitably, we give up. Instead of looking at our setbacks as failures, we should use these to move forward.

For the last several years, instead of setting a New Year’s resolution, I have asked the Lord to help me choose one word that I can focus on all year long. One year, my word was trust. Another year, it was compassion. This year, my word is confidence.

When I focus on one word instead of numerous resolutions, I find that I am more likely to reach my goals. The word confidence speaks to me in many ways – I need to have confidence in his love for me, in my decision-making abilities, and in my talent to create.

I still have goals that I would like meet, but when God places a word in front of me, my goals fall in line with his. Framed in the context of this word, I know that God is challenging me to grow. That doesn’t mean that I won’t get distracted or discouraged, but that God will be there to help me through each task. He will be there all year long no matter the challenges that life brings, and he will give me the confidence that I need to turn it over to him.

Prayer: Dear Lord Jesus, please go with me on the journeys this year will bring. Help me to confidently face life with you by my side. Amen.

Leave a Reply

