June 11, 2017

A Lesson from Wonder Woman

Posted in Christianity tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , at 8:28 pm by Staci Hart Mauney

“For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Rom 6:23)

Have you seen the new Wonder Woman movie? Don’t worry if you’re one of the few who hasn’t seen it yet. I’m not here to spoil the movie for you, but rather to comment on a line that really spoke to me during the movie.

As Diana (Wonder Woman) was leaving to save mankind from himself, her mother told her that men do not deserve her. This line was repeated several times throughout the movie: once by the male love interest, Steve Trevor, once by Diana, and another time by the villain. Getting what we deserve was a theme found throughout the movie.

This made me think about how we don’t deserve God’s love. We can’t earn his love or lose it – it just is. He just is. Jesus didn’t deserve to die on the cross for us, but he chose to do that for us because we can’t save ourselves.

If you have ever been hurt or taken advantage of by someone, then you know that our first response is usually to exact revenge on that person. However, we know as Christ-followers that we are called to forgive those who hurt us: “Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you” (Eph 4:32).

When I think about the sacrifice that Jesus made for me, it seems the least I can do for someone else. That doesn’t mean that I have to keep that person in my life. She may not even know I’ve forgiven her, but the freedom found in letting go will help me move forward.

What about you? Do you ever do things for people even when – maybe especially when – they don’t deserve it?

Dear Jesus, thank you for loving me more than I deserve. Please help me to forgive those who have hurt me. Amen.

Leave a Reply

